Snow Day #3…and a gift card holder…

YES! We actually had another snow day today! Actually – more of an ice day. It warmed up a little this afternoon, so I was able to get out. We have a freezing rain advisory for tonight, but the forecasters are saying we should get up to about 40 tomorrow, so back to school/work for me! The nice thing is, I’ll go back for 2 days, have the weekend off, go back for a day and a half, then have a week and a half off. 🙂

So – aside from working on cleaning our home office (it was so messy!) – I snuck in a little stampin’ room time.

The first offering is a gift card holder, inspired by Angie, over at Chic ‘n Scratch’s Stampin’ Academy (her reindeer is too stinkin’ cute!!)

topnote_holder inside_holder (I almost used my Costco card again, until I remembered I have a Macy’s gift card from hub’s work…lol)

This was SO ridiculously easy! My orientation is a little different than Angie’s, but I found this made for a little less cutting and fit the gift card (and my Costco card) well.

I cut the Kraft card stock with the Top Note Bigz die on my Big Shot. Then, I cut a single panel in Chocolate Chip. I cut that in half across the short side and adhered it with sticky strip. The outside was stamped with the snowflake from Winter Post in Riding Hood Red. I then stamped the sentiment in Old Olive on Very Vanilla, using the Merry Christmas from hostess set Punches Three. I used my Crop-a-Dile to punch a hole, close to the bottom, at or below the sticky strip. I then threaded some Riding Hood Red taffeta ribbon through. I still haven’t decorated the inside, I was too excited to post this!

My other “project” was inspired by a box of unused ornaments I found from my bargain shopping last year (I LOVE Target’s 90% off sales!). These are the unbreakable type that they sold for $1.99 for a box of 18 (a good deal – but paying 20 cents was even better…lol)

altered_ornament

I got out my Crystal Effects and randomly freehanded some swirls around the entire ornament. I then gave it a liberal dusting of Dazzling Diamonds. I didn’t want to tap it off too hard, since I the Crystal Effects was wet and I didn’t want it to smear or run. So, it left quite a bit of glitter on the body of the ornament. My solution? Once it dried, I simply rinsed the ornament off. The nice thing is the unbreakable ornaments are plastic, so I wasn’t worried about rust or having things chip off.

Voila! I can possibly have 18 ornament accents to tie off onto packages for teachers, hostess gifts, my manicurist, our housekeeper, the groomer, etc, etc. To make them more festive, I will probably thread them onto some ribbon or elastic cording!

Enjoy!

blog_xmassig9

5 thoughts on “Snow Day #3…and a gift card holder…

  1. The ornament is so cool!!! Way to be creative & thrifty. 🙂

    And, where are you? Three snow days? We in Minnesota don’t even get one. Instead we get 2-hour commutes. Boo.

  2. I have GOT to get that die – this is just too cute. And that ornament is really cute – can’t believe you free handed it!

  3. I’m west of St. Louis…out in the country. We have a lot of rural roads, both where I live and where I teach. It’s really unusual, to have all these days off! However, our temps have been in the teens and we have a layer of ice on the roads, under the dusting of snow. So, I think the superintendents don’t want to take any chances! It also helps that the state passed a law this year that give districts 5 “free” weather days, without having to make them up. Before, we had to make up each and every day off! They are calling for freezing rain tonight, with up to 1/4″ of ice where I live (the line is just south of me, and where I teach is on the border) – so who knows what we’re in store for tomorrow? I know Wal-Mart was packed when I went there today! It was a combo of people just now getting out and getting ready for the next storm…crazy time of year!

Leave a Reply

