Happy 2009! Another sneak peek…

This is for a swap I’m doing, with other demos, using Hostess sets. The rules were to make them “best quality”, since the swap hostess will be forwarding one of the cards to Stampin’ Up! for possible inclusion  in the monthly contest or showcase. So, keeping that in mind, here’s my submission:

hostess_swap

My set is “Echoes of Kindness” (everyone in this swap has a different set they are using, so we all get a sample from five other sets). For this one, I used Certainly Celery and Barely Banana, along with Close to Cocoa and Very Vanilla. Can you say SPONGING? I sponged my poor little fingers to the bone! Luckily, I only had to make seven of these. I had a hard time coming up with a design, so there are a few prototypes laying by the wayside.  For the flower, I colored it using blender pen, using chalk/pastels instead of ink. The sentiment has a flower stamped in the background, using Close to Cocoa (I stamped off three times before stamping on that square.) The sentiment was then stamped in Lavender Lace. The card background (on the celery) was stamped in Versamark. The leaf on the curly punched-tab was stamped in Close to Cocoa, using the same stamp as the front oval. Inside, it’s lined in Very Vanilla (also sponged), and has a faint flower stamped into the background.

I think it turned out okay. I’m just glad I’m done making these! I forgot how hard swaps can be. Luckily, this was only a 6+1!

Enjoy!

flower_sig

Ingredients:

Stamps: Echoes of Kindness (Level 2 Hostess Set, available with qualifying workshop/order beginning January 19, 2009)
Card Stock: Certainly Celery, Barely Banana, Close to Cocoa, Very Vanilla
Ink: Close to Cocoa, Lavender Lace, Versamark
Punches: Curly Label, Ticket Corner, Wide Oval
Accessories: Very Vanilla grosgrain, dimensionals
Techniques: Sponging, Pastels, Big Shot Top Note

echoes_index1

3 thoughts on “Happy 2009! Another sneak peek…

  1. You have done a great job with the new sets! It’s nice to see something new! Please accept my apologies for not visiting lately! Happy New Year!

    Amy J

Leave a Reply

